Carl Hanson Medal

Carl Hanson Medal Awarded to Geoffrey W. Stevens

Miyazaki, Japan, November 8, 2017

Today the Carl Hanson Medal for a lifetime achievement in solvent extraction
science and technology was awarded to Geoffrey W. Stevens, Laureate Professor at
the Department of Chemical Engineering, The University of Melbourne.

Besides extensive work in the fields of design procedures considering fluid
dynamics of two phase flow in extraction columns, including coalescence and mass
transfer, as well as engineering aspects of ion exchange and solvent extraction,
Professor Stevens has contributed chapters to 20 books or collections and published
more than 350 scientific papers. Most remarkable is that he is the lead author of the
chapter “Extraction, Liquid-liquid” in the Kirk-Othmer, Encyclopaedia of Chemical
Technology. He was Secretary General of the International Solvent Extraction
Committee (1996-2014) and Member of the International Ion Exchange Committee
(2007-present) and has fostered scientific co-operations all over the world.

Prof. Stevens started, after a short period in industry, in 1983 as lecturer at
The University of Melbourne, progressing from Senior Lecturer to Reader, Associate
Professor, Professor, Dean, Vice-President, President and became 2011 Laureate
Professor of his University, a honour seldom bestowed. Memberships in committees
of his University are far too many to be named. Noteworthy are his other scientific
interests as Director of the “Particulate Fluids Processing Centre”, Project Leader of
the “Cooperative Research Centre for Greenhouse Gas Technologies” and Director
of the “Peter Cook Centre for CCS Research”.

He has been awarded a Senior Fullbright Scholarship (University of
Minnesota), a DAAD scholarship (TU Munich), as well as a series of other fellowships
(Australian Inst. Min. Met., IChemE, Australian Academy of Technological Sciences
and Engineering) and received the following awards: ICI Award, ExxonMobil Award
of Excellence in Chemical Engineering, Top 100 Australia´s Most Influential
Engineers (on three occasions), Dutch Royal Shell Chair of Chem. Eng. at Tsinghua
University, China and the Patricia Grimshaw Award for Mentor Excellence.

He is editor or on the board of several scientific journals: The Journal of
Solvent Extraction and Ion Exchange, Hydrometallurgy, Chemical Engineering
Research and Design, Transactions of IChemE, Chemical Engineering Journal,
Chinese Journal of Chemical Engineering, International Scholarly Research Network
Chemical Engineering and Separation and Purification Technology.

He has been a committee member or chairman of various international
conferences and t his list of refereed contributions to scientific conferences counts
more than 200 presentations. He has supervised about 80 PhD theses and is also a
practitioner, albeit safely grounded in science and engineering. He is consultant for
more than 40 companies and has been for some 20 years, a Chartered Practicing

Carl Hanson Medal

The Carl Hanson medal was jointly instituted in 1986 by the Society of
Chemical Industry (UK) and Deutsche Gesellschaft für Chemisches Apparatewesen,
Chemische Technik und Biotechnolgie e.V (DECHEMA, Germany) in memory of
Professor Carl Hanson, who was Professor of Chemical Engineering at Bradford
University U. at the time of his death in 1985.

Following graduation Professor Hanson joined the UK Atomic Energy Authority
where he worked on mixer-settlers before joining the University of Bradford in 1960.
There he continued his research developing and leading an internationally
recognised teaching and research centre in the science and technology of liquidliquid
(solvent) extraction. In addition to publishing many scientific papers he
published several seminal books including the Handbook of Solvent Extraction that
he edited with Professors Lo and Baird in 1983. He also directed a series of
continuing education courses on solvent extraction that were presented on a regular
basis around the world. He was Secretary to the Organising Committee for the
International Solvent Extraction Conference (ISEC'71) and when the International
Committee for Solvent Extraction (ICSE) was established in 1974 he was the
unanimous choice as General Secretary. Professor Hanson was also an active
member of the Society of Chemical Industry and was a founder member of the
Solvent Extraction Group (now the Separation Science and Technology Group) of the
Society later becoming its Chairman. He was also a Vice-President of the Society.

Recipients of the Carl Hanson Medal:
ISEC 2014 Professor Yizak Marcus
ISEC 2011 Professor Mike Cox
ISEC 2008 Professor Jan Rydberg
ISEC 2005 Professor Yuri A. Zolotov
ISEC 2002 Dr Gordon Ritcey
ISEC 1999 Professor Douglas S. Flett
ISEC 1996 Professor Henry Freiser
ISEC 1993 Professor W. Jack McDowell
ISEC 1990 Dr Pier R. Danesi
ISEC 1988 Professor Aviezer Stevan Kertes (posthumous award)
ISEC 1986 Dr Arthur Naylor

ISEC Award goes to Erkki Paatero

The ISEC award was instituted in 2014 at the ISEC 2014 conference in
Wurzburg by the International Committee of Solvent Extraction (ICSE) to recognise
significant contributions which have advanced the wider field of solvent extraction
(SX). The AWARD should encourage the pursuit of technological advances and
innovative thinking in the SX industry thereby enhancing its professional status.
The 2017 ISEC Award was given to Prof. Paatero who has had first a long
academic career first at the Åbo Akademi University and then as a full professor at
the Lappeenranta University of Technology. In 2008 he joined Outotec Ltd which is a
global provider of solvent extraction technology. At Outotec he was technology
director with responsibility for new developments in hydrometallurgy. Erkki Paatero
has been during his professional career involved in the utilization of the surface and
colloid chemistry knowledge in metal extraction especially for cobalt, nickel and
uranium. At ISEC 1988 in Moscow he gave his first presentation on that topic. He
also worked with the technology developments related to the solvent extraction of
copper. Research related the co-extraction of Fe and Mo has resulted in patented
technology. His other achievements were the technology developments for base and
precious metal separations in chloride media. Prof. Paatero is the main inventor in
the patents related to a new Au SX process and a process for Cu and Zn extraction
from chloride containing leach solutions. Another significant contribution is the
development of a production process for sitosterol from pulp crude soap based on
the separation of the compounds. To summarize his name is associated with 30
patents (plus more than 30 are protected) that proves his significant contribution to
the solvent extraction industry.

Jetzt Mitglied werden